ECE Seminar - Next Generation Multiple Access for IMT 2030

2:00pm - 3:00pm
Room 4472 (lift 25/26), Academic Building, HKUST

Abstract: Multiple access techniques are fundamental to the design of wireless communication systems, since many crucial components of such systems depend on the choice of the multiple access technique. Because of the importance of multiple access, there has been an ongoing quest during the past decade to develop next generation multiple access (NGMA). Among those potential candidates for NGMA, non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) has received significant attention from both the industrial and academic research communities, and has been highlighted in the recently published International Mobile Telecommunications (IMT)-2030 Framework.  However, there is still no consensus in the research community about how exactly NOMA assisted NGMA should be designed. The aim of this talk is to illustrate three important features of NOMA assisted NGMA, namely multi-domain utilization, multi-mode compatibility, and multi-dimensional optimality, where important directions for future research into the design of NOMA assisted NGMA have also been discussed.

Event Format
Speakers / Performers:
Dr. Zhiguo Ding
Khalifa University

Zhiguo Ding received his B.Eng in Electrical Engineering from the Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications in 2000, and the Ph.D degree in Electrical Engineering from Imperial College London in 2005. He is currently a Professor in Communications at Khalifa University, and also affiliated with University of Manchester and Princeton University. Previously, he had been working in Queen's University Belfast, Imperial College, Newcastle University and Lancaster University. From Oct. 2012 to Sept. 2024, he has also been an academic visitor in Prof. Vincent Poor's group at Princeton University. Dr Ding' research interests are machine learning, B5G networks, cooperative and energy harvesting networks and statistical signal processing. His h-index is over 100 and his work receives 50,000+ Google citations. He is serving as an Area Editor for the IEEE TWC and OJ-COMS, an Editor for IEEE TVT, COMST, and OJ-SP, and was an Editor for IEEE TCOM, IEEE WCL, IEEE CL and WCMC. He received the best paper award of IET ICWMC-2009 and IEEE WCSP-2014, the EU Marie Curie Fellowship 2012-2014, the Top IEEE TVT Editor 2017, IEEE Heinrich Hertz Award 2018, IEEE Jack Neubauer Memorial Award 2018, IEEE Best Signal Processing Letter Award 2018, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award 2020, IEEE SPCC Technical Recognition Award 2021, and IEEE VTS Best Magazine Paper Award 2023. He is a Web of Science Highly Cited Researcher in two disciplines (2019-2023), an IEEE ComSoc Distinguished Lecturer, and a Fellow of the IEEE.


Department of Electronic & Computer Engineering
Post an event
Campus organizations are invited to add their events to the calendar.